Photonics Control Technology Team

Team Leader

Satoshi Wada


Satoshi Wada


Access map

swada [at]

Photonics Control Technology Team,
RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics

#119 1F Laser Science Laboratory,
2-1 Hirosawa, Wako, Saitama 351-0198 Japan

Related links


Photonics Control Technology Team Outline Image

Our team investigates new optical technologies for solving world-wide environmental and energy problems. We are mainly developing remote-sensing system of poisonous gas, lidar as an atmospheric monitor for high energy cosmic ray observation, and solar-pumped laser for advanced energy source. We are also developing tunable laser-based biosensors for biomedical and agricultural applications. These researches will contribute to build and to maintain social environment that humans can live safely. Moreover, we are investigating fundamental research topics including particle control with high power Lyman α coherent source, and development of laser pumped neutron source. New applied researches were performed on the basis of basic research of laser materials, and nonlinear optics.


Engineering, Mathematical and physical sciences, Biology / Biochemistry, Agricultural Sciences, Medicine, dentistry, and pharmacy


Particle control and measurement, Medical and agricultural measurement, Trace gas measurement, Natural energy, Space applications


  1. Development of trace gas remote-sensing system with mid-infrared laser
  2. Development of infrastructure measurement system with laser remote-sensing system
  3. Research of renewable energy using solar light
  4. Generation of ultraslow muon with vacuum ultraviolet laser
  5. Application to biomedical, agricultural, and industrial measurement using lasers and photoacoustic wave

(a) Sodium LIDAR, (b) Coherent Lyman-α resonance radiation source for ultra-slow muon generation


(c) Laser inspection of infrastructure by courtesy of Shizuoka Pref. and Topcon Corp., (d) Application of photonics control technology to plant cultivation

Selected Publications

  1. Louchev, O.A. and Wada, S.: “Short-pulsed laser-induced breakdown in dielectrics with strong electron superheating: diffusion-controlled kinetics of impact ionizationand recombination” , Journal of the Optical Society of America B Vol. 38 Issue 4, pp. 1416-1434 (2021).
  2. Yasui, H., kabayama, S., Tachibana, T., Yumoto, M., Ogawa, T., Watanabe, Y., and Wada, S.: “Evaluation of effect of platinum nanoparticles in aqueous dispersion on hydrogen bonding state using attenuated total reflectance infrared spectroscopy”, International State-of-the-art in Surface and Interface Fabrication Technologies I, pp.78-86 (2021).
  3. Wang, K.L., Jiang. J.C., Jhu, C.H., Wada, S., Sassa, T., and Horie, M.: “High-performance organic photorefractive materials containing 2-ethylhexyl plasticized poly (triarylamine)” , J. Mater. Chem. C Vol. 8, pp. 13357-13367 (2020).
  4. Tsuno, K., Wada, S., Ogawa, T., Ebisuzaki, T., Fukushima, T., Hirata, D., Yamada, J., and Itaya, Y.: “Impulse measurement of laser induced ablation in vacuum” , Optics Express Vol.28 No.18, pp. 25723-.5729 (2020).
  5. Koike, K., Fujii, K., Kawano, T., and Wada, S.: “Bio-mimic energy storage system with solar light conversion to hydrogen by combination of photovoltaic devices and electrochemical cells inspired by the antenna-associated photosystem II” , Plant Signaling & Behavior Vol. 15 No.3, e1723946 (2020).


Satoshi WadaTeam Leader
Norihito SaitoSenior Scientist
Kiwamu KaseSenior Research Scientist
Tomoki MatsuyamaSenior Research Scientist
Takafumi SassaSenior Research Scientist
Takayo OgawaResearch Scientist
Masaki YumotoResearch Scientist
Katsushi FujiiResearch Scientist
Kentaro MiyataResearch Scientist
Masayuki MaruyamaResearch Scientist
Takeharu MurakamiResearch Scientist
Masato OtagiriResearch Scientist
Yotaro SaitoResearch Scientist
Takane KobayashiSpecial Temporary Employee
LanLan BAIPostdoctoral Researcher
Akinori TaketaniPostdoctoral Researcher
Michio SakashitaTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Katsuhiko TsunoTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Yukinori KunimotoTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Kei TaneishiTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Kei MorishitaTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Yasushi KawataTechnical Staff Ⅰ
Toshihiro OkashitaTechnical Staff I
Yoko OnoTechnical Staff Ⅱ
Takeshi MatsumotoTechnical Staff Ⅱ